Timeouts
From the
Edit a Timeout
- To modify a timeout, enter a number in the Value field to the right of the description, and then click Save. The new applied value takes effect immediately.
- To reset all timeouts to their predefined default values, click Reset to Default. For default values, see the table below.
Timeout descriptions
| Setting | Description |
|---|---|
| User Session Timeout | Specifies the elapsed time, in minutes, of user inactivity/idle time before the "Session expiring..." warning message displays. A value of 0 disables session expiration, meaning the user session will never expire. The recommended value is between 0 and 90. The default value is 20 minutes. |
| Session Expiration Warning Timeout | Specifies the length of time, in minutes, to display the 'Session expiring...' warning message once the user inactivity/idle time has elapsed (as specified by AutoLogoutTimeout setting). Once this time elapses, the user is automatically logged out, the Upland Qvidian session is ended and the browser is redirected to the login page. A value of 0 disables the message display and the expiration will occur immediately. The value must be between 0 and 15. The default value is 1 minute. |
| Generated Content Link Expiration | Specifies the length of time, in hours, that the generated URL link to a piece of Library content will remain valid. When a library content record is generated to a URL link, the link can be accessed within the specified number of hours. Once the time limit of the authentication token is exceeded, the content can no longer be opened, saved, etc. The default value is 1440 hours (60 days). Value of 0 means that the link never expires. |
| Download File Link Expiration | Specifies the length of time, in hours, that a link to download files will remain valid. The default value is 24 hours. |
| Forgotten Password Link Expiration |
Specifies the length of time, in hours, that a forgotten password link will remain valid. When a user receives a Forgotten Password email link, the user will need to act on the link within the specified time limit. When the time limit is exceeded, the link will no longer be valid for use. The default value is 1 hour. NOTE: A value of "0" causes the link to be inactive and therefore cannot be clicked. |
| New User Email Expiration |
Specifies the length of time, in hours, that the website link in the New User email notification will remain valid. When a user receives a New User email link, the user will need to act on the link within the specified time limit. When the time limit is exceeded, the link will no longer be valid for use. The default value is 72 hours. NOTE: A value of "0" causes the link to be inactive and therefore cannot be clicked. |
| Re-Initialize User Email Expiration |
Specifies the length of time, in hours, that the website link in the Re-initialize User email notification will remain valid. When a user receives a Re-initialize User email link, the user will need to act on the link within the specified time limit. When the time limit is exceeded, the link will no longer be valid for use. The default value is 24 hours. NOTE: A value of "0" causes the link to be inactive and therefore cannot be clicked. |
Note: Existing values outside the timeout maximums set in the August '26 Release will not be changed. Once a value is edited following the Aug '26 release and is outside the new min/max limit, then the system will disable the "Save" button until a value within the allowed range is entered.