Workspaces

Adestra has a multi-tiered structure, with workspaces being the highest level. Workspaces can be useful for company divisions, allowing multiple brands or departments to exist separately as part of one account. Workspaces contain projects, which in turn can be used for further grouping, and they then contain campaigns.

On this page:

Creating a Workspace

To create a workspace you will need to be an admin user for your account, and the 'Create Workspace' link will be available in the sidebar on the right.

Caution: Once a workspace has been created it cannot be deleted. However, if you are an admin user you can make workspaces inactive, so they no longer appear to users in the account.

Workspace Settings

The 'Create workspace' link will open the creation form, where you can define the settings for the workspace.

Workspace name

The name of the workspace. This is how the workspace is referred to throughout the system, so it should be memorable.

Description

This is an optional field that can contain any additional details or information you like.

Colour

Adestra will automatically generate a colour for the workspace, but you can click on the colour to change it. This will be the colour of the header at the top of the screen whenever you are working in the workspace.

Owner

The owner of the workspace. This defaults to your user, but if you're creating a workspace for someone else you can change it here.

The owner of the workspace will be assigned admin rights for it. If you are creating a workspace for another user, they will be assigned admin rights, and you may not have access to that workspace after it has been created.

Campaign Preset

Selecting the 'Use a default campaign preset' checkbox will expand the screen to display the additional option.

When creating a workspace it is possible to select a default Campaign Preset, which will be applied to any campaigns created within the workspace. Clicking the Select Preset button opens the preset selector, displaying the available presets for you to choose from.

Each workspace has a logo which is displayed in the workspace list alongside the name, and in the top left of the screen whenever you are working in that workspace.

Adestra provides a default logo, but you can change this using the drop-down box to select an existing logo in your account, or you can upload a new logo by click the 'Choose File' button. Logos will resize automatically.

Tagging

You are able to add tags to workspaces from the creation form or via the settings. Press enter or space to add the tag, this will highlight the tag and give you the option to delete it if required.

Remember to click save and then you will be able to use these tags to navigate through workspaces with the same ones.

You can find out more about how tags work in the Tagging topic.

Active and Inactive Workspaces

You are able to change the active status of a workspace using the 'active' status in its settings, if you are an Admin or Account Admin (should you have workspace permissions for the latter).

Making a workspace 'inactive' allows users to maintain reporting data but hide the workspace from the account overview. This is useful should a workspace become outdated or no longer needed.

A notification will also be shown, reminding you that the workspace is inactive.

Activating Workspaces

If you hold admin rights you will see the 'Include Inactive' checkbox above the list of workspaces in the account. Checking this will then show the inactive workspaces, though faded.

You can then go into that workspace and alter the settings so it is active again.